This month, the American Society of Landscape Architects selected recipients of its 2004 Medals and Firm Award, to be presented at the November 1 meeting in Salt Lake City. Peter E. Walker, who recently partnered with Michael Arad to win the World Trade Center Memorial competition, won the organization's top award, the ASLA Medal.

M. Paul Friedberg will received the ALSA Design Medal for accomplishments in design. Marvin I. Adleman, a professor at Cornell, will be awarded the Jot D. Carpenter Medal for contributions to industry education. James S. Bedwell of the USDA Forest Service will receive the LaGasse Medal in the Landscape Architect Category, and Virginia Anderson, the director of Seattle Center, will take the same in the non-landscape architect category, both for leadership in conservancy of natural resources and public lands. The Urban Land Institute will be awarded the Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence for contributions to policy, research, education, planning and design. Charleston, South Carolina's mayor, Joseph P. Riley Jr., will receive the Olmsted Medal for environmental leadership, vision and stewardship. Lastly, multi-city firm Wallace Roberts and Todd will take the Landscape Architecture Firm Award.