The Nuckolls Fund for Lighting Education awarded five grants during Lighfair 2008. The awards are given in memory of educator Jim Nuckolls. The $20,000 Lesley Wheel Introductory Lighting Program Grant was awarded to the Virginia Tech School of Architecture + Design for the development of a lighting design curriculum as part of its interior design program and open to all members of the School of Architecture + Design. University of Oklahoma College of Architecture was awarded the Nuckolls Fund Grant for $20,000 to develop and deliver an advanced lighting design course that integrates computer visualization techniques for representation, simulation, and quantification of lighting to interior design and architecture students. The Edison Price Fellowship for $5,000 was awarded to Sandy Isenstadt, assistant professor at the department of history of art at Yale University, who is researching electric lighting in the early- to mid-twentieth century and how it affected modern architecture. The 2008 Jonas Bellovin Scholar Achievement Award was presented to Lisa Friehe, a senior in the Lighting Options of Architectural Engineering at the University of Nebraska/Lincoln. The $5,000 award is given to students nominated by their faculty and rotates among the lighting programs throughout the country. The $5,000 Jules Horton International Student Achievement Award, established by the principals of Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design, went to Rui Qi, a student at RPI's Lighting Research Center; as with the Bellovin award, students are nominated by their faculty.