The International Association of Lighting Designers (IALD) has named Laura Prestwood Thompson the IALD Education Trust’s President’s Select Director for 2014-2015. Thompson, a lighting educator, currently serves as the director for the Texas Christian University (TCU) Center for Lighting Education in Fort Worth, Tx. and is also the chair of the Department of Interior Design & Merchandising at TCU.

The IALD Education Trust established this position in 2011 and the individual’s role is one of governance. To that end, the President’s Select Director helps promote the Trust’s mission and aids with strategic planning, while also providing a different perspective for the eight members of the IALD Education Trust’s Board of Directors. "We are thrilled to add Dr. Thompson's voice to the IALD Education Trust Board of Directors," said Ron Naus, IALD Education Trust President and President at B-K Lighting + TEKA Illumination. "Educators who are directly impacted by the work of the IALD Education Trust will benefit from her perspective and enthusiasm."

In addition to Naus, the other members of the 2014 IALD Education Trust Board of Directors are: Secretary-Treasurer Andrea Hartranft, Hartranft Lighting Design; Gustavo Avilés, Lighteam; Jimalee Beno, Peerless Lighting; Lara Cordell, Wiedenbach Brown; Steven Rosen, Available Light; Mark Sieber, Erco Lighting; and Kevin Theobald, GIA Equation Lighting Design. Beno served as the President’s Select Director in 2012-2013 and Cordell was the inaugural Select Director in 2011.