The Illuminating Engineering Society New York City Section (IESNYC) presented the 2015 Lumen Awards at its 47th annual Lumen Gala held on June 18, 2015, in New York City. This year, the event drew a record-breaking attendance or more than 800 guests from across the design and manufacturing sectors of the lighting industry. Awards were presented in three categories: the Lumen Award of Excellence, the highest level of recognition for permanent architectural application; the Lumen Award of Merit, in recognition for a meritorious permanent architectural application; and a Lumen Citation, in recognition for an art installation, technical detail, portion of a single project, temporary installation, or other work.

Fourteen projects were selected from a pool of approximately 100 entries. Overall the jury selected two projects with Awards of Excellence, five projects with Awards of Merit, and seven projects with Citation Awards.

The complete list of project winners is as follows:

Awards of Excellence
Project: The Pavilion at Brookfield Place
Lighting Designer: Kugler Ning Lighting Design

Jeff Goldberg

Project: Carnegie Hall Façade Lighting
Lighting Designer: Kugler Ning Lighting Design

Jeff Goldberg

Awards of Merit
Project: 330 Hudson Street Lobby
Lighting Designer: Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting in collaboration with ESI Design

Project: The National September 11 Memorial Museum
Lighting Designer: Fisher Marantz Stone

James Ewing

Project: Tavern on the Green Courtyard
Lighting Designer: Focus Lighting in collaboration with KB Associates

Jeff Goldberg

Project: McKim, Mead & White Library Restoration
Lighting Designer: Kugler Ning Lighting Design

Project: Restoration of the Nave of Yale Sterling Memorial Library
Lighting Designer: Kugler Ning Lighting Design

Citation Awards
Project: Fulton Center and Sky Reflector-Net (for an architectural feature as a light source)
Lighting Designer: Arup

James Ewing

Project: Brown Institute for Media Innovation at Columbia University University (for strong execution of a concept)
Lighting Designer: Buro Happold

Michael Moran Photography

Project: One World Trade Center Spire (for controls innovation)
Lighting Designer: Claude R. Engle Lighting Consultant

Michael Lee

Project: Dulles Corridor Metrorail (for design execution for a public transit system)
Lighting Designer: Domingo Gonzales Associates

Project: Starlight (for light installation)
Lighting Designer: Studio Joseph in collaboration with Studio 1 Thousand

Project: Michael Kors Shanghai (for façade detail)
Lighting Designer: Tilliotson Design Associates


Project: Falling Sticks (for light installation)
Lighting Designer: zeroLUX lighting design’s

The following designers served as the 2015 Lumen Award jury: Lee E. Brandt, principal, HLB Lighting Design; AC Hickox, principal and vice president, Domingo Gonzalez Associates; Renée Joosten, lighting design director, ICRAVE; Sarah E. Randall, project manager, Renfro Design Group; Eric R. Scott, senior associate, Highland Associates; and Melanie Taylor, vice president, WSP.

 “The New York lighting community celebrates at the Lumen Awards Gala,” Megan Carroll, chair of the Lumen Awards Committee and director of sales east at Xicato said in a prepared statement. “It’s the one night during the year when we gather to honor the accomplishments of our members. A record-breaking over 800 guests from New York City, across the Hudson, and North America came to celebrate our strong, vital industry, and the recipients of the 47th Lumen Awards.”

In addition to the project awards the section also presented its service awards. The following members were recognized for their contributions: IESNYC Brilliance Award: Marty Salzberg, Cline Bettridge Bernstein; IESNA Section Service Award: Chuck Cameron, Stan Deutsch Associates; and IESNA Section Meritorious Service Award: Randy Sabedra, RS Lighting Design.

“The New York City lighting community has a vast depth and breadth of award-winning lighting designers and this, along with the consultants, and manufacturer’s reps, contribute to the making of this year’s Lumen Awards,” Tim Milton, president of the IESNYC and regional vice president north east of USAI Lighting said in a press statement. “I’m particularly pleased that the IESNYC strives to outreach and support this same lighting community and at the Lumen Awards Gala, it’s also a time to honor select members with Section Service Awards.” 

Correction: A previous version of this article noted that it was an unprecedented occurrence in the history of the program that a single firm received four awards in a given year. That was not correct.