Shirley Coyle, 2016 - 2017 IES President
Courtesy IES Shirley Coyle, 2016 - 2017 IES President

The Illuminating Engineering Society (IES) has announced that Shirley Coyle is the new president of the Society for the 2016 – 2017 term. She succeeds Mark Roush who served the 2015 – 2016 term.

At present, Coyle, is president of Cree Canada, a business unit of Cree. Over the course of her professional career, she has worked for a number of global lighting companies. A member of the IES for 31 years, she has served as president of Toronto Section, as well as being involved with several IES committees including Roadway Lighting, Outdoor Environmental Lighting, and Street & Area Lighting. She is also actively involved as a committee member for several CSA Group (formerly the Canadian Standards Association) standards committees on lighting including roadway lighting and solid-state lighting. She has been Lighting Certified since 2000.

“The need for a strong and professional IES has never been greater, given the rapid pace of technological change in lighting systems and ongoing research findings on the non-visual effects of light,” Coyle said in a prepared statement. “It’s a privilege to work with my Board colleagues and our excellent IES staff to deliver on the recommendations of the comprehensive Business Review we completed this past year. We are really excited about bringing more value to our passionate volunteers, our general membership, the lighting community, our collaboration partners, and the general public.”

Cheryl English, of Acuity Brands is the president-elect for the 2017-2018 term. The current IES Board of Directors members are: Mark Roush, past president, Experience Light; James Radi, treasurer, Shat-R-Shield; Boyd Corbett, Lumato Lighting; Jeffrey J. Davis, System Design Consultants; Dawn DeGrazio, Lighting Analysts; Antonio Garza, Iluminacion Total; Antonio Giacobbe, Acuity Brands; Jennifer Jaques, Lighting Application Sciences; Francois-Xavier Morin, LightFX; and Susanne Seitinger, Philips Lighting.