The International Association of Lighting Designers (IALD) has announced the candidates for its 2017 election cycle. The ballot includes candidates for President-elect, Treasurer, three Director-at-Large positions, and two Membership Committee positions. With the association’s continued growth, this year there are more candidates for the open positions. All of the nominees are leading lighting professionals who view participation in the IALD’s initiatives a key component of their roles as lighting designers.

The candidates for the 2017 IALD Elections are:

President Elect (one position available)
David Ghatan, IALD
C.M. Kling and Associates, Alexandria, Va.

Treasurer (one position available)
Ronald D. Kurtz, IALD
Randy Burkett Lighting Design, St. Louis

Director-at-Large (three positions available)
Denise Fong, IALD
Stantec, Seattle

G. Michael Gehring, IALD
KGM Architectural Lighting Design, Los Angeles

Uno Lai, IALD
Unolai Lighting Design & Associates, New York

Monica Lobo, IALD
LD Studio, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Kevan Shaw, IALD
Kevan Shaw Lighting Design, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Membership Committee (two positions available)
Colin Ball, IALD
BDP, London

Amardeep Dugar, IALD
Lighting Research & Design, Chennai, India

Yah Li Toh, IALD
Light Collab, Singapore

Jered Widmer, IALD
The Lighting Practice, Philadelphia

Over the course of the next few weeks, the IALD will be releasing further details and a full election brochure with candidate bios and personal statements of candidacy. A write-in option is available for every position on the ballot. All questions about the IALD elections process should be addressed to, or by calling the IALD office at 312-527-3677.