Celebrating its 25th Anniversary, the 2007 GE Edison Awards recognized seven projects during a ceremony held May 28, 2008, in Las Vegas during Lightfair. The program is "open to lighting professionals who creatively employ significant use of GE light sources (lamps and/or LEDs) in a lighting design project completed during the previous calendar year."

The highest honor, the GE Edison Award, as well as an Award of Excellence was given to The United States Airforce Memorial, Arlington, Va., lighting design by Enrique Peiniger and Jean Sundin of New York City-based Office for Visual Interaction. The project was selected as this year's Edison Award "for its functional excellence; architectural compatibility; effective use of state-of-the-art lighting products and techniques; appropriate color, form and texture revelation; energy effectiveness and cost effectiveness."

Awards of Excellence were also presented to the Tampere Power Plant?Naistenlahti, Tampere, Finland, lighting design by Roope Siiroinen, Arto Heiskanen and Heini Ylijoki of Tampere, Finland-based VALOA Design Ltd., and the African Burial Ground National Monument in New York City, lighting design by Domingo González and Nancy Lok of Domingo González Associates, New York.

Four Awards of Merit were presented to: DUO at the Four Seasons Maui Resort, Maui, Hawaii, lighting design by Claudio Ramos and Hiram Banks of San Francisco-based h.e. banks + associates Lighting Design; Loyola University?Madonna della Strada Chapel, Chicago, lighting design by Jim Baney, Giulio Pedota, and Miory Kanashiro of Chicago-based Schuler Shook; Jamaica Station Redevelopment, Jamaica, N.Y., lighting design by Domingo González, Nelson Downend, and Mario Merza of New York City-based Domingo González Associates; and Showroom for Allsteel and Gunlocke, Atlanta, lighting design by T. Morgan Gabler and James P. Youngston of Atlanta-based Gabler-Youngston. The Allsteel and Gunlocke showroom also received the 2007 GE Edison Award for Sustainable Design.

The judges for this year's award program included: Renée Cooley, Cooley Monato Studio, New York; Denise Fong, Candela, Seattle; Mike Lynch, GE Consumer & Industrial; Scott Oldner, Scott Oldner Lighting Design, Dallas; and Gary Steffy, Gary Steffy Lighting Design, Ann Arbor, Mich.