The IESNY did it again: The 36th Annual Lumen Awards, held on June 16 at New York's Cheslea Piers, was an impressive event, with a turnout of over 500. As Frank Conti, past president of the organization noted, the evening has come a long way from the first, which he recalled had 30 participants. This year's president Patricia DiMaggio indicated the numbers would have been even bigger, but for space constraints. Eleven projects were recognized with awards. Receiving Awards of Excellence were two projects by Cooley Monato Studio, designed with architecture firm Yabu Pushelberg: Le Meridien Hotel in Minneapolis and Amore Pacific, a skin care boutique in New York City. The Hall of Ocean Life at New York City's Natural History Museum, designed by Brandston Partnership in conjunction with the museum's design team, also won an Award of Excellence.

Five awards of merit were presented, three of which went to SBLD Studio for the Continental Global Gateway at Newark Airport, the 350 Madison Avenue lobby, and the University of Maryland Medical Systems. Focus Lighting received a merit award for Powder Deep Studios, a New York City nightclub. Fisher Marantz Stone won for its lighting renovation of the Central Synagogue in New York City.

Citations were given to the MetLife Tower in New York City, by HLB Lighting Design; and the Marion Oliver McCaw Hall in Seattle by Leni Schwendinger Light Projects. Focus Lighting won the Lumen Feltman for its design of the Carlos Miele store in downtown Manhattan.

The organization also honored several of its more dedicated members with special awards, including Renee Cooley, Gary Dulanski and Pete Jacobson. Willard Warren was also recognized for his many years with the IESNY.